Register  Login
..::  »    Unit Profiles » Unit Profiles ::..

South African Armed Forces

1 Military Area

Find Another UnitBrief Description

1 Military Area - (0 members)

Military Area No 1* [Afr: 1 Militêre Gebied] was created on 22 July 1969, with its headquarters in Rundu, and with infantry companies deployed at Katima Mulilo, Rundu and Ondangwa. After the SADF took over SWA border area security from the SAP on 1st April 1974, 1 Military Area was divided into four sub areas covering Kaokoland, Owambo, Kavango and Caprivi. A fifth sub area was added in August 1975 to protect the hydroelectric scheme at Ruacana & Calueque.1 Military Area was later divided into Sectors 10, 20 and 70, which remained under SADF control despite the forming of the South West African Territory Force (SWATF) in Aug 1980

Link me to this Unit



Only Registered Users may view the Members, History and ROH of this unit
YearNumber of members on Roll Of Honour

Facebook Comments (Please note that this does NOT send notifications to the host)

@ 2007 War In Angola - Veridical Solutions